- Pro Sports Blogging - http://www.prosportsblogging.com -

Montreal Canadiens Awards

Posted By Corey Krakower On Apr 8 2010 @ 3:15 pm In Montreal Canadiens | No Comments

I intentionally have not posted any new Habs content the last few days because I was eagerly waiting for the Habs-Islanders game to be played. With back to back shutouts against 2 playoff teams in the East, one would have thought that with that kind of momentum and with the knowledge that a win would virtually clinch a playoff spot; the Canadiens would without a doubt beat the Islanders. I have been mentally preparing for the Canadiens to clinch so that I can look back and point out how this team got to where they are. Unfortunately that did not happen, so I have to wait at least one more day.

With the regular season just about over; it’s time to announce the individual award winners for the 2009-2010 Montreal Canadiens.

The Air Canada Award

Awarded to the player who would benefit most from a plane ticket out of town, and a fresh start with another team.

Winner: Maxim Lapierre

The John Deere Award

Awarded to the player currently ‘on the farm’ that shows the most potential for a promising future with the Montreal Canadiens

Winner: PK Subban

The Accountant Award

Awarded to the asset whose value has depreciated the most over the course of the season.

Winner: Roman Hamrlik

The Elin Nordegren Award

Awarded to the person who is most proficient in the fields of physical abuse and intimidation.

Winner: Travis Moen

The Jimmy Hoffa Award

Awarded to the person who put on the longest disappearing act

Winner: Andrei Kostitsyn

The Heart and Stroke Foundation Award

Awarded to the player(s) that give fans the greatest chance of having a heart attack or a stroke while watching them, but at the end of the day he/they get the job done and deserves lots of credit.

Winners: Jaroslav Spacek (for his impressive plus minus rating), Hal Gill (for his play on the PK)

The Cialis Award

Awarded to the player who has all the tools to be great, but for some reason has significant problems with performance. This player usually leaves his teammates disappointed and unsatisfied.

Winner: Carey Price

The Alcoholics Anonymous Award

Awarded to the player who excels at blocking others from taking shots, and is therefore considered an unsung hero.

Winner: Josh Gorges

The New York Stock Exchange Award

Awarded to the player whose stock has improved the most this year.

Winner: Ryan O’Byrne

The Moishe’s Steakhouse Award

Awarded to the player most closely resembling the qualities of a steak at Moishe’s; decent but incredibly overpriced.

Winner: Scott Gomez

The Saku Koivu Award

Awarded to the player most deserving of succeeding Saku Koivu as the team’s captain due to his leadership ability on and off the ice.

Winner: Brian Gionta

The Mike Cammalleri Award

This is the first time this award is being given out because it’s the first time in team history that the Canadiens have signed an impact player on July 1, and is therefore named after this year’s winner.

Winner: Mike Cammalleri

And now for the big ones!

The Bernie Maddoff Award

Awarded to the person (usually a goalie) that most consistently robs other people of opportunities to cash in.

Winner: Jaroslav Halak

The O.J. Simpson’s Attorney Award

Awarded to the person who you can always count on for great defense.

Winner: Andrei Markov


Awarded to the team’s most valuable player, and also this year’s best forward.

Winner: Tomas Plekanec (who also has a career high 70 points)

About the Author Subscribe to author's RSS feed [1]

Article printed from Pro Sports Blogging: http://www.prosportsblogging.com

URL to article: http://www.prosportsblogging.com/2010/04/08/montreal-canadiens-awards/

URLs in this post:

[1] Subscribe to author's RSS feed: http://www.prosportsblogging.com/author/corey-krakower/feed/

Copyright © ProSportsBlogging.com. All rights reserved.