- Pro Sports Blogging - http://www.prosportsblogging.com -

Gold Glove Awards… the Winners Are…

Posted By Christopher Rowe On Nov 10 2010 @ 5:29 pm In MLB,Philadelphia Phillies | No Comments


Shane Victorino is among the winners three years running

Philadelphia Phillies center fielder Shane Victorino continues to be recognized as one of the best outfielders in baseball – at least by way of awards. The jury is still out as to whether or not Joe Baseball Fan in Kansas City or Sheila Baseball Fan in Palm Springs knows much about the Flyin’ Hawaiian. Regardless, Victorino¬† earned his third consecutive National League Gold Glove Award on Wednesday.

[2]Victorino, the only Phillies player to win a Gold Glove this year, is the first Phils outfielder to win three consecutive Gold Glove Awards since Garry “Secretary of Defense” Maddox won eight consecutive from 1975-82. Victorino tied for the league lead in assists (11) and finished¬†5th out of 37 qualifying outfielders in the league in fielding percentage (.995) and range factor per game (2.59).

Phillies shortstop Jimmy Rollins won Gold Gloves from 2007-09, but after missing nearly half the season because of injuries, he did not win his fourth consecutive award for 2010. Third baseman Placido Polanco and 2B Chase Utley made cases for themselves but did not win.

Polanco led the league in fielding percentage (.986) and range factor (2.90). He committed just five errors, which were the fewest among the league’s 11 qualifying third basemen. Utley won the 2010 Fielding Bible Award for second basemen. Utley led the league in zone rating (.847), range factor (5.49) and total chances per nine innings (5.24), but he finished seventh out of 11 qualifying second basemen in fielding percentage (.981). He committed 11 errors in 2010.

Complete NL Award Winners included:

P: Bronson Arroyo, CIN
C: Yadier Molina, STL
1B: Albert Pujols, STL
2B: Brandon Phillips, CIN
SS: Troy Tulowitzki, COL
3B: Scott Rolen, CIN
OF: Shane Victorino, PHI
OF: Michael Bourn, HOU
OF: Carlos Gonzalez, COL

The big winner is Rolen, with the eighth Gold Glove of his career. That ranks him third all-time among third basemen, behind Brooks Robinson (16) and Mike Schmidt (10). A strong argument can, has, and will be made in favor of Ryan Zimmerman, who does fantastic work of his own in the field, but Rolen is no slouch, and this is a situation where either would have made sense.

Molina and Victorino each win their third Gold Glove in a row. Bourn wins his second in a row. Tulowitzki, Gonzalez, and Arroyo are first-time winners, while Pujols wins his second, and Phillips wins his second. Pujols last won in 2006, while Phillips last won in 2008.

2010 AL Gold Glove Winners were:

P: Mark Buerhrle, CHW

C: Joe Mauer, MIN
1B: Mark Teixeira, NYY
2B: Robinson Cano, NYY
SS: Derek Jeter, NYY
3B: Evan Longoria, TBR
OF: Ichiro Suzuki, SEA

OF: Franklin Gutierrez, SEA

OF: Carl Crawford, TBR

I have very little problem with any individual on this list. Suzuki has notched his 10th straight Gold Glove and there are far too many Yankees on the list. A case could be made for Baltimore Orioles catcher Matt Wieters but at least it didn’t go to Jorge Posada, who isn’t a full-time catcher per se. However, he is a Yankee so he could have been voted in based solely on that! Overall, nothing here seems too egregious, so we can all go on with our lives without getting too upset.

About the Author Subscribe to author's RSS feed [3]

Article printed from Pro Sports Blogging: http://www.prosportsblogging.com

URL to article: http://www.prosportsblogging.com/2010/11/10/gold-glove-awards-the-winners-are/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://prosportsblogging.com/psb/uploads/2010/11/Shane-Victorino-Foundation-Fashion-Show.jpg

[2] Image: http://prosportsblogging.com/psb/uploads/2010/11/NLCS-Victorino-windy-ball-Game-21.jpg

[3] Subscribe to author's RSS feed: http://www.prosportsblogging.com/author/cprowecomcast-net/feed/

Copyright © ProSportsBlogging.com. All rights reserved.