- Pro Sports Blogging - http://www.prosportsblogging.com -

Halladay Unanimous NL Cy Young

Posted By Christopher Rowe On Nov 16 2010 @ 3:06 pm In MLB,Philadelphia,Philadelphia Phillies | 2 Comments

[1] [2]Roy Halladay is the unanimous 2010 National League Cy Young Award winner.  There were 32 votes cast (two votes in each NL city), and Halladay received all 32 first-place votes. He is the 13th unanimous NL winner, receiving a perfect 224 points (7 points for first place, 4 for second, 3 for third, two for fourth and one for fifth). The BBWAA expanded the Cy Young Award ballot from 3 to 5 pitchers this year for the first time.

Halladay's Perfect Game


John Denny 1983 Cy Young winner

[5]Halladay is the fifth pitcher in major league baseball history to win Cy Young awards in both leagues, joining Gaylord Perry, Pedro Martinez, Randy Johnson and Roger Clemens. Halladay previously won the 2003 American League Cy Young [6]with the Toronto Blue Jays. Halladay is the fourth pitcher in Phillies history to win the award, joining Steve Carlton (1972, 1977, 1980, 1982), John Denny (1983) and Steve Bedrosian (1987).


Steve Carlton won Cy Young Awards in 1972, 1973, 1980 and 1982

Halladay went 21-10 with a 2.44 ERA in 33 starts this season. He led the league in wins, complete games (nine), shutouts (four) and innings pitched (250 2/3) and finished second in strikeouts (219). He also became just the 20th pitcher in baseball history to throw a perfect game, when he threw one May 29 against the Florida Marlins at Sun Life Stadium.  He is the first pitcher to record both a perfect game and a no-hitter, the latter coming in Game 1 of the NLDS against the Cincinnati Reds.

[8]Cardinals right-hander Adam Wainwright (20-11, 2.42 ERA) finished second with 122 points with 28 second-place votes, three third-place votes and one fifth-place vote. Rockies right-hander Ubaldo Jimenez (19-8, 2.88 ERA) took third with 90 points. Halladay, Wainwright and Jimenez were the only pitchers named on all the ballots. [9]


     Unanimous winners in NL: Sandy Koufax (three times), Greg Maddux (twice), Johnson, Bob Gibson, Carlton, Rick Sutcliffe, Dwight Gooden, Orel Hershiser and Jake Peavy.


Roy Oswalt was 6th in balloting


 **Roy Oswalt finished sixth in the balloting. He received one third-place vote, three fourth-place votes and five fifth-place votes.

Former Phillies pitcher Brett Myers finished 10th for his efforts with the Houston Astros. Myers garnered one fourth-place vote. Oddly enough, two-time defending winner Tim Lincecum did not finish among the top vote-getters.

Check out the BBWAA’s Web site for voting results [12].


Halladay joins an elite group having won the Cy Young in both leagues

Related article: 






http://prosportsblogging.com/mlb-baseball/philadelphia-phillies/amaro-and-boras-discuss-werth/ [14]

About the Author Subscribe to author's RSS feed [15]

Article printed from Pro Sports Blogging: http://www.prosportsblogging.com

URL to article: http://www.prosportsblogging.com/2010/11/16/halladay-unanimous-nl-cy-young/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://prosportsblogging.com/psb/uploads/2010/11/Halladay-Cy-Young-1.jpg

[2] Image: http://prosportsblogging.com/psb/uploads/2010/11/Halladay-Cy-Young-2.jpg

[3] Image: http://prosportsblogging.com/psb/uploads/2010/11/Halladay-Perfect.jpg

[4] Image: http://prosportsblogging.com/psb/uploads/2010/11/denny_display_image.jpg

[5] Image: http://prosportsblogging.com/psb/uploads/2010/11/CY_YOUNG_Award.jpg

[6] Image: http://prosportsblogging.com/psb/uploads/2010/11/Bedrock-Cy-Young1.bmp

[7] Image: http://prosportsblogging.com/psb/uploads/2010/11/steve-carlton-philadelphia-phillies-223.jpg

[8] Image: http://prosportsblogging.com/psb/uploads/2010/11/Wainwright.jpg

[9] Image: http://prosportsblogging.com/psb/uploads/2010/11/tim-lincecum-pushes-forward.jpg

[10] Image: http://prosportsblogging.com/psb/uploads/2010/11/ubaldo.jpg

[11] Image: http://prosportsblogging.com/psb/uploads/2010/11/NLCS-Oswalt.jpg

[12] Check out the BBWAA’s Web site for voting results: http://bbwaa.com/

[13] Image: http://prosportsblogging.com/psb/uploads/2010/11/NLCS-Halladay.jpg

[14] http://prosportsblogging.com/mlb-baseball/philadelphia-phillies/amaro-and-boras-discuss-werth/: http://prosportsblogging.com/mlb-baseball/philadelphia-phillies/amaro-and-boras-discuss-werth/

[15] Subscribe to author's RSS feed: http://www.prosportsblogging.com/author/cprowecomcast-net/feed/

Copyright © ProSportsBlogging.com. All rights reserved.