As the European Tour season concluded in Dubai amidst controversy, here’s this week’s What It Means:
Ian Poulter Being Penalized After His Ball Mark Moved: Poulter accidentally dropped his ball as he was preparing for a 40-foot birdie putt in the second playoff hole against Robert Karlsson. It hit his ball marker and it moved, thus leading to a one-stroke penalty. Karlsson sank a birdie putt and won the event.
The bottom line to me is this: it may come off as a stupid rule, but it’s his error, he knows it, called it on himself and ultimately is at fault for it. Does the rule need to be changed? Maybe? But I think the lesson to be learned here is (and I’ve done it over my 14 years of playing this sport): be very careful when you’re waiting to putt.
Martin Kaymer Winning the Race to Dubai: It’s the European Tour’s version of the FedEx Cup and Kaymer wrapped up a stellar 2010 — four wins, including the PGA Championship and a Ryder Cup victory with that huge title. Next up: world #1, which he may very well attain. Great season for Kaymer
About the Author
Written by Jeremy Schilling
I'm a recent college graduate from Quinnipiac University who loves golf, sports, music and the news.