- Pro Sports Blogging - http://www.prosportsblogging.com -

Iowa Hawkeye Players Recognized in All-Big 10 Football Honors

Posted By Debbie Baratz On Nov 29 2010 @ 11:04 pm In Iowa | 2 Comments

On Monday evening, the Big Ten announced its annual awards and all-conference football teams. The conference recognized 11 players from the Iowa Hawkeyes 2010 team. Congratulations!

Coaches First Team: Wide receiver Derrell Johnson-Koulianos, defensive end Adrian Clayborn and defensive backs Shaun Prater and Tyler Sash

Coaches Second Team: Wide receiver Marvin McNutt, guard Julian Vandervelde, tackle Riley Reiff, tight end Allen Reisner, defensive lineman Karl Klug, linebacker Jeremiha Hunter and free safety Brett Greenwood

Media First Team: Clayborn, Prater and Sash

Media Second Team: Vandervelde, Reiff and Klug


Coaches: Defensive tackle Christian Ballard, defensive tackle Mike Daniels, running back Adam Robinson and punter Ryan Donahue

Media: Ballard, Daniels, Greenwood, Hunter, Micah Hyde, Johnson-Koulianos, McNutt, Reisner, Robinson and Donahue

 A few comments:

  • Defensive end Adrian Clayborn and defensive backs Tyler Sash and Shaun Prater received first team honors from both the coaches and the media.
  • Will Sash enter the draft this year? He has said he doesn’t want to talk about it yet.
  • The number of defensive selections was glaring compared to Iowa’s offensive picks. Is this reflective of Iowa’s current woes: the defense’s talent pool is much stronger than the offense? Does Iowa need to do some soul searching offensively in the offseason regarding their players and coaches?
  • Once considered a top offensive player in the conference, Iowa quarterback Ricky Stanzi is nowhere to be found. His starpower has dimmed dramatically in the last month.
  • Iowa’s honorable mentions include two players that will be returning next year. Let’s hope they return and their talent continues to grow (see Adam Robinson, and Michah Hyde).
  • If Iowa were to put together their own honorable mention list of freshmen, I’d give a shout-out to kicker Mike Meyer, running back Marcus Coker and linebacker James Morris.

Here’s the list of all the winners [1].

About the Author Subscribe to author's RSS feed [2]

Article printed from Pro Sports Blogging: http://www.prosportsblogging.com

URL to article: http://www.prosportsblogging.com/2010/11/29/iowa-hawkeye-players-recognized-in-all-big-10-football-honors/

URLs in this post:

[1] winners: http://www.bigten.org/sports/m-footbl/spec-rel/112910aae.html

[2] Subscribe to author's RSS feed: http://www.prosportsblogging.com/author/dbaratz/feed/

Copyright © ProSportsBlogging.com. All rights reserved.