- Pro Sports Blogging - http://www.prosportsblogging.com -

All Big Ten Spartans

Posted By David Lesmeister On Dec 2 2010 @ 4:12 pm In Michigan State | No Comments

Numerous Michigan State players were recognized for their play during the 2010 season with All Big Ten Honors. The coaches selected placekicker Dan Conroy and linebacker Greg Jones to the first team. Also selected to the second team were tackle D.J. Young, punter Aaron Bates and defensive back’s Trenton Robinson, Johnny Adams and Chris L. Rucker. Those who received honorable mention from the coaches were quarterback Kirk Cousins, running back Edwin Baker, wide receiver Mark Dell, offensive lineman Joel Foreman, tight end Charlie Gantt, safety Marcus Hyde and defensive tackle Jerel Worthy.

The media selected Conroy, Baker and Jones to the first team. Gantt, Hyde and linebacker Eric Gordon were selected to the second team, while Adams, Cousins, wide receiver B.J. Cunningham, Dell, Foreman, Robinson, Rucker, Worthy and Young were All Big Ten honorable mention.

Finally, Coach Mark Dantonio was named Big Ten Coach of the Year. He definitely deserved this award after leading the Spartans to a school-record 11 victories in 2010. Not only did he lead MSU to its’ first Big Ten Championship since 1990, but he is really beginning to solidify this Michigan State program as one of the best in the country. He made some of the gutsiest calls I have ever seen, including one fake field goal and one fake punt, the first to win a ballgame in overtime, and the other to set up a game tying touchdown in the fourth quarter. Most importantly, Coach Dantonio improved to 3-1 against little brother, in which MSU is now the dominant school in Michigan, hands down.

About the Author Subscribe to author's RSS feed [1]

Article printed from Pro Sports Blogging: http://www.prosportsblogging.com

URL to article: http://www.prosportsblogging.com/2010/12/02/all-big-ten-spartans/

URLs in this post:

[1] Subscribe to author's RSS feed: http://www.prosportsblogging.com/author/dlesmeis/feed/

Copyright © ProSportsBlogging.com. All rights reserved.