- Pro Sports Blogging - http://www.prosportsblogging.com -

Players Choice Awards: Halladay & Worley Finalists

Posted By Christopher Rowe On Oct 24 2011 @ 4:30 pm In MLB,Philadelphia,Philadelphia Phillies | 2 Comments

Roy Halladay and Vance Worley are among the finalists for the Players Choice Awards, as voted by the players before the end of the regular season. These are often predictors for Cy Young Award finalists as well as other individual player awards (MVP, Rookie of Year).

Halladay won the outstanding pitcher in the National League last year prior to adding his 2010 NL Cy Young Award. “Doc” is again a finalist, along with Arizona’s Ian Kennedy and the Dodgers’ Clayton Kershaw for the 2011 Player’s Choice Award. This may or may not tip off the possible 2011 Cy Young Award, for which all three pitchers are among the leading candidates.

Worley is a finalist for outstanding rookie in the NL with Atlanta’s Freddie Freeman and Craig Kimbrel. Once again this could be an indicator of who might be the winner of the MLB Rookie of the Year Award which is voted on by MLB writers.

Players Choice Award Winners will be announced Nov. 3 on the MLB Network. The awards benefit the Major League Baseball Players Trust. Winners will designate charities to receive grants from the Players Trust, a charitable foundation created and run by the players. Subsequent regular season awards such as Most Valuable Player, Cy Young and Rookie of the Year will follow as November unfolds.

Roy Halladay was 19-6 for the Phillies with a 2.36 ERA. He struck out a career-high 220 batters and led the NL with eight complete games.

Vance Worley did not originally figure into the Phillies’ 2011 rotation, but injuries forced him into action. He went 11-3 with a 3.01 ERA, with 21 starts and 25 appearances overall after arriving from Lehigh Valley. The Phillies won 14 consecutive starts by Worley, the longest stretch by a Phillies pitcher since 15 by Steve Carlton in 1972.

Finalists for Players Choice Player of the Year (which can be selected from either league), include Boston’s Adrian Gonzalez, Yankees’ Curtis Granderson and Detroit’s Justin Verlander. The finalists for Marvin Miller Man of the Year are Paul Konerko (Chicago White Sox),  Adam Wainwright (St. Louis Cardinals) and Michael Young (Texas Rangers).


Rookie of Year http://www.prosportsblogging.com/2011/09/28/rookie-of-year-award-goes-to/ [1]

MVP http://www.prosportsblogging.com/2011/09/26/mvp-award-goes-to/ [2]

Cy Young Award  http://www.prosportsblogging.com/2011/09/26/cy-young-award-goes-to/ [3]

Manager of Year http://www.prosportsblogging.com/2011/09/26/manager-of-the-year-award-goes-to/ [4]

About the Author Subscribe to author's RSS feed [5]

Article printed from Pro Sports Blogging: http://www.prosportsblogging.com

URL to article: http://www.prosportsblogging.com/2011/10/24/players-choice-awards-halladay-worley-finalists/

URLs in this post:

[1] http://www.prosportsblogging.com/2011/09/28/rookie-of-year-award-goes-to/: http://www.prosportsblogging.com/2011/09/28/rookie-of-year-award-goes-to/

[2] http://www.prosportsblogging.com/2011/09/26/mvp-award-goes-to/: http://www.prosportsblogging.com/2011/09/26/mvp-award-goes-to/

[3] http://www.prosportsblogging.com/2011/09/26/cy-young-award-goes-to/: http://www.prosportsblogging.com/2011/09/26/cy-young-award-goes-to/

[4] http://www.prosportsblogging.com/2011/09/26/manager-of-the-year-award-goes-to/: http://www.prosportsblogging.com/2011/09/26/manager-of-the-year-award-goes-to/

[5] Subscribe to author's RSS feed: http://www.prosportsblogging.com/author/cprowecomcast-net/feed/

Copyright © ProSportsBlogging.com. All rights reserved.