- Pro Sports Blogging - http://www.prosportsblogging.com -


Posted By Cole On Dec 6 2011 @ 12:25 am In San Jose Sharks | No Comments

Earlier tonight, the NHL board of aprovals has approved a four conference alignment format that will be implemented by NHL commisioner Gary Bettman.

 It won’t be long before San Jose says goodbye to the Dallas Stars as division rivals and hello to their new enemies, such as Calgary and Vancouver.

There will be four conferences, as shown below:

Conference A: Anaheim, Calgary, Colorado, Edmonton, Los Angeles, Phoenix, San Jose, Vancouver

Conference B: Chicago, Columbus, Dallas, Detroit, Minnesota, Nashville, St. Louis, Winnipeg
Conference C: Boston, Buffalo, Florida, Montreal, Ottawa, Tampa Bay, Toronto

Conference D: Carolina, New Jersey, New York Islanders, New York Rangers, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Washington

San Jose will play each team outside of their conference two times each season, while playing those in their division either 5 or 6 times. If you feel like you haven’t seen enough or the Sedin bros, than you should like the alignment.

In each conference the top four teams will play in a playoff (1 v 4, 2 v 3). The winner of Conference A and Conference B will play for a spot in the Stanley Cup Finals while the winner of Conf C and Conf D will do so as well.
What do you think? Do you think it’s necessary? Do you like the change? Comment Below

About the Author Subscribe to author's RSS feed [1]

Article printed from Pro Sports Blogging: http://www.prosportsblogging.com

URL to article: http://www.prosportsblogging.com/2011/12/06/breaking-news-nhl-realignment-is-confirmed/

URLs in this post:

[1] Subscribe to author's RSS feed: http://www.prosportsblogging.com/author/allstarcole22/feed/

Copyright © ProSportsBlogging.com. All rights reserved.